General Information

In all municipalities and regional districts across BC, general local elections are held every four years on the third Saturday in October. From time to time there is a need to hold other types of voting opportunities such as: a by-election (to fill a vacancy) or assent voting (also known as a referendum). The District of Lantzville is currently governed by a Council of seven elected officials: one Mayor and six Councillors. This will change with the 2018 general local election to a Council of five elected officials: one Mayor and four Councillors (per Council Size Reduction Bylaw No. 110, 2014 adopted by Council after approved by electors in the November 2014 referendum).

Council makes decisions which directly affect your everyday life: from land use and community planning, to the maintenance of roads, parks, and trails, to recreation, waste collection, fire rescue, bylaw enforcement and the provision of sewer service and potable water. You have the opportunity to impact these services and the future of Lantzville when you vote to elect your 2018-2022 Council. Council adopts policies and laws that map the future of Lantzville and govern day-to-day operations that are delegated to the Chief Administrative Officer and staff to implement and manage.

General local elections are a shared responsibility between each local government and Elections BC. The District of Lantzville is responsible for running its own general local election according to municipal bylaws and Provincial laws regulating local government elections. Council has appointed a Chief Election Officer (CEO) and Deputy CEO to run the general local election process and oversee all local election administration activities. Elections BC is responsible for the campaign financing and advertising rules for local elections and non-election assent voting events under the Local Elections Campaign Financing Act.

School District No.68 and School District No. 69 appoint their own Chief Election Officers who are responsible for their School Trustee Elections and provide the respective school board trustee candidate information for the District of Lantzville ballot. Depending on where you live or own property within the District of Lantzville, visit the relevant School District No. 68 Nanaimo Ladysmith Website or School District No. 69 Qualicum website for more School Trustee Election information.

To elect, for a four-year term:

  • one (1) Mayor,
  • four (4) Councillors, AND,
  • if you live in School District #68, nine (9) School Trustees OR,
  • if you live in School District #69 - Area E (Nanoose Bay & portion of District of Lantzville) one (1) School Trustee

Declaration of Candidates - Close of Nomination Period - September 14, 2018

Candidate Contact Information - Close of Nomination Period - September 14, 2018


Wednesday, October 10, 2018 and Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - ADVANCE VOTING DAYS
8:00 am - 8:00 pm at Municipal Hall, Council Chamber, 2nd Floor, 7192 Lantzville Road
Advance Voting is open to all electors - ballots are counted on October 20th at 8:00 pm

Saturday, October 20, 2018 - GENERAL VOTING DAY
8:00 am - 8:00 pm at Costin Hall, 7232 Lantzville Road

VOTE BY MAIL - Visit the VOTERS page for more information about registering to Vote by Mail. NOTE: Date of ballot availability is subject to printer delivery - currently estimated to be the end of September. Each Elector voting by mail is responsible to ensure that their Mail Ballot is received by the Chief Election Officer before the close of voting at 8:00 pm on Saturday, October 20th.

Click the links below for additional information for:

Other Resources & Guides

Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing Videos

VIDEO (5:25): What is Local Government?

VIDEO (3:48): Characteristics of an Effective Locally Elected Official

VIDEO (6:34): Roles and Responsibilities of Elected Officials

For more information, visit Municipal Hall or contact:

Trudy Coates, Director of Corporate Administration & Chief Election Officer
Telephone: 250.933.8082

Joan Harrison, Deputy Chief Election Officer
Telephone: 250.390.4006

Last Modified: Sep 14, 2018
Copyright ©
District of Lantzville
Site By: Trinex Internet Solutions Inc.
Photos: © Gordon Howe