

District of Lantzville

August 6, 2015

## MEDIA RELEASE

For Immediate Release

## District of Lantzville By-election Advance Voting Has Closed and General Voting Day Opens 8:00 am Saturday August 8<sup>th</sup>!

**Lantzville, BC** – The second day of Advance Voting for the District of Lantzville by-election to elect four new Councillors closed at 8:00 pm on Wednesday, August 5, 2015 with a total of 293 electors casting their ballots during the two days of voting. This is just one elector less than the 294 electors who voted in advance in the District of Lantzville General Local Election in 2014!

Over twenty other electors have already cast their ballots through the Vote by Mail option, so far – very close to the 29 electors who chose this option in 2014.

Time will tell if the similar voter turn-out continues for General Voting Day on Saturday, August 8, 2015. In the 2014 General Local Election, a total of 1,417 electors cast their ballots giving the District of Lantzville an enviable, 49.4% voter turnout!

General Voting Day for the By-election is open from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm on Saturday, August 8, 2015 at Costin Hall, 7232 Lantzville Road, Lantzville, BC. Campaign signs, brochures, bumper stickers, buttons, etc. and influencing voters are prohibited within 100 metres of a Voting Place during the hours that voting is being held.

All Advance Voting, Vote by Mail and General Voting Day ballots are counted after voting closes on General Voting Day at 8:00 pm on Saturday, August 8, 2015. Preliminary results will be tallied and posted Saturday night on the District's website: <u>www.lantzville.ca</u> and at the District Office, and will be distributed to the media. Final Determination starts on August 10, 2015 and the Chief Election Officer must declare the official results before 4:00 pm on August 12, 2015.

The newly-elected Councillors' term of office starts when they swear their Oath of Office at the special Council meeting at 7:00 pm, on Monday, August 31, 2015 at the Royal Canadian Legion, and join Councillors John Coulson and Denise Haime, and Mayor Colin Haime on the District of Lantzville Council for a term ending in 2018. This is a public meeting and everyone is welcome.

For more information on voter eligibility and voting in the District of Lantzville by-election, visit <u>www.lantzville.ca</u> or call 250.390.4006.

-30 -

Contact: Trudy Coates, Chief Election Officer 250.390.4006 or trudy@lantzville.ca